Over the weekend quite a few people in England got a start when they looked up at the night sky and saw a big, bright object whizzing by. Calls to police were made. It was described as very bright. One said it looked like a fireball. It is supposed that it could have been a meteor.

Here is a picture by Jake Ross, the Telgragh.uk that I think was what was seen. It is called Shooting Star.

That would make me sit up and pay attention.

It used to be that when people saw Halley’s Comet,  they were afraid. Some have pooh poohed their fear. There have been cases when meteors have crashed to ground and made a fearsome sound. I think that would scare me and if I saw something bright going across the sky, I’d ne nervous.

Here is a picture of the path of Halley’s comet. It comes by Earth every 75 to 76 years.

Next, a picture by Professor Emerson Barnard at Yerkes Observatory in Williams Nay Wisconsin. It was taken in 1910.

There is something glorious about comets. They are a mystery because no one really knows what they are and how they are formed.

This is a picture Of Halley’s comet in 1986, in Australia.

This last picture is of Halley’s comet in 1986.

