I was thinking about oak trees. There are quite a few around here. They grow very tall. I tried to take a picture of the new leaves on a bottom branch and I wasn’t tall enough. I don’t know how long the oak tree had been standing. but it was older than a decade.
The pictures of old oaks that I found aren’t identified.

By, Jeoen Philippona, Netherlands Wikipedia.

jeroen Philippona ntherlands wikiThe rest of the pictures are from Wikimedia Commons.

By, Ranier Lippert.

320px-Eiche_bei_Untererthal,_4 Ranier Lippert WCBy, Chris Reynolds.

Ancient_Oaks_in_the_grounds_of_Pembroke_Lodge,_Richmond_Park_-_geograph.org.uk_-_1426771 Chris Reynolds WCBy, Sebastian Wallroth.

320px-Derfflinger_eiche_003 Sebatian Wallroth WCBy, Oilbac from France.

Chêne_à_hiboux_oak_with_owls_hole_(1134522401) Olibac from France WCBy, Sarah Smith. The caption says that this oak tree has to be over 400 years old.

Ancient_Oak_-_Penhill_Farm_-_geograph.org.uk_-_1150345 Sarah Smith WC

 

